FR DE EN

TALENT LAB #18

TalentLAB#18

Project-call

 

The 2015-2016 season saw the launch of TalentLAB, an initiative dedicated to theatre creation and dance run by the Théâtres de la Ville in collaboration with the Théâtre du Centaure. The 2017 edition saw the TalentLAB grow in size to include opera as well as theatre and dance. Moreover the TROIS C-L – Centre de Création Chorégraphique Luxembourgeois joined the project as partner for the dance section and the Young Opera Makers Programme run by the European network enoa, became a partner for the opera section.

Initially conceived with the aim of finding a formula to best guide and support emerging talent in Luxembourg, TalentLAB is first and foremost a laboratory: a platform for exchanging ideas, where dialogue, research and development are at the forefront. During the TalentLAB#18, the project leaders will be given the opportunity to exchange during ten days with all participants and to develop a scratch performance of their project under the generous expert guidance of experienced artists, recruited especially for this patronage among long- term international associates. Also, during the 10 days of the TalentLAB, workshops, platform talks and performances will allow participants and audience to discover artists, working methods and innovative productions – all this in a festival spirit of openness and exchange.

The TalentLAB#18 will take place from 24 May to the 3 June 2018 and will once again include the disciplines theatre, dance and opera. Ahead of the TalentLAB#18, a preparation week will take place from the 12 to 17 February 2018, during which a meeting between the organizers, the project leaders and their mentors will take place.

This project-call concerns all three disciplines and is aimed at emerging international artists in the field of live performance who are based in the region. The project leaders can come from different domains (actors, writers, artist collectives, directors, dramaturgs, contemporary choreographers, dancers, composers, musicians etc.). Emerging artists are defined as those artists who are at the start of their career or in the process of turning professional, having had numerous artistic experiences in the fields of theatre, dance or opera as well as established artists who would like to try a new artistic form of expression or discipline. Applications can be made by individual artists as well as artist collectives. Project leaders from a variety of backgrounds, training and aesthetics are welcome (for example in dance: classical, contemporary, hiphop, streetdance, etc.). The opera project call is organized in partnership with the Young Opera Makers programme of the European network enoa.
 

1. Project criteria


Projects eligible for TalentLAB must fulfil the following conditions:

  • Project leaders and their collaborators must be available for the entire period of the TalentLAB#18 as well as the preparation week in February.
  • The project must be an original work or a personal adaptation of existing texts (rewriting, devised piece, etc.).
  • The project must be in the early stages of development, and the 2018 edition of TalentLAB must be its first residency.
  • The project language must be Luxembourgish, French, German or English or without words.
  • Project leaders are encouraged to ensure their project is relevant within the context of current economic, social and political events, and that it has a multidisciplinary and research element to it. These qualities will be considered an advantage by the jury.


2. Terms of the project-call


Applications must be submitted electronically before the 10 November 2017 to the following address: info(at)talentlab.lu, specifying the project leader’s name in the subject line of the e-mail.


3. Applications


Applications must be submitted in Luxembourgish, French, German or English, and must include:

  • an artistic dossier with a description of the project, a motivation letter by the project leader, and a biography of the project leader and his participants. The dossier should not exceed two A4 pages;
  • for the dance and opera sections: a videoclip or a recording (of a research piece or a previous work, etc.):
  • a completed application form, which can be downloaded from the following websites: www.lestheatres.lu // www.theatrecentaure.lu // www.danse.lu
     

4. Selected projects


A panel of professionals will review all applications. Candidates will be informed of the selection outcome by 22 December 2017.

During the TalentLAB#18, the selected artists will have the opportunity to develop a scratch performance of their project with a maximum duration of 20 minutes. This presentation must be achievable with limited technical means and will represent the first stage of a research process rather than a finished product. The project leader may choose 3 additional participants and is free to personally select these participants from various professions and backgrounds (actors, dancers, composers, writers, musicians, dramaturgs, directors, video artists, costume designers, set designers, etc.) according to what he considers most useful to the project development.

To create their scratch performance, the artists will be accompanied and guided by experienced artists who will take on a mentor role.


5. Key dates


10 November 2017
Closing date for applications

22 December 2017
Announcement of selected projects

Week from 12 to 17 February 2018
Preparation week

March 2018
Press conference to present the complete TalentLAB#18 programme

TalentLAB#18
From 24 May to 3 June 2018

FR DE EN

TALENT LAB #18

TalentLAB#18

Appel à projets


La saison 15-16 a vu le lancement d’une initiative des Théâtres de la Ville en collaboration avec le Théâtre du Centaure, intitulée TalentLAB et dédiée à la création théâtrale et la danse. L’édition 2017 a vu se rajouter le volet «opéra» et la communauté du TalentLAB s’est agrandie. Le TROIS C-L – Centre de Création Chorégraphique Luxembourgeois a ainsi rejoint l’aventure pour le volet «danse» et le Young Opera Makers Programme du réseau européen enoa s’est associé au projet pour le volet «opéra».

Conçu dans l’esprit et le désir de trouver une formule pour mieux accompagner, encadrer et soutenir les talents émergents de la place et des environs, TalentLAB est tout d’abord un laboratoire, une plateforme d’échange et de transmission où dialogue, formation et recherche sont au premier plan. Durant le TalentLAB#18, les équipes sélectionnées auront la possibilité d’échanger dix jours durant avec les autres intervenants et de développer des maquettes sous le regard bienveillant et expert d’artistes confirmés et recrutés parmi les collaborateurs internationaux de longue date, choisis spécialement pour cette mission de parrainage. Durant les dix jours du TalentLAB, des workshops, rencontres et spectacles permettront aux intervenants et au public de découvrir des artistes, des méthodes de travail et des spectacles inédits – le tout dans un esprit festivalier de partage et d’ouverture.

Le TalentLAB#18 aura lieu du 24 mai au 3 juin 2018 et comprendra cette année encore les volets «théâtre», «danse» et «opéra». En amont du TalentLAB#18, une semaine préparatoire, pendant laquelle une rencontre entre les organisateurs, les porteurs de projet et leurs parrains respectifs sera organisée, aura lieu du 12 au 17 février 2018.

Cet appel à projet concerne les trois volets et s’adresse aux talents émergents internationaux du spectacle vivant implantés et/ou travaillant sur le territoire régional. Les porteurs de projet peuvent être de métiers et d’horizons différents (comédiens, auteurs, metteurs en scène, dramaturges, danseurs, chorégraphes contemporains, compositeurs, librettistes, musiciens…). Sont considérés comme artistes émergents les artistes en début de carrière professionnelle, témoignant de plusieurs expériences artistiques dans le domaine du théâtre, de la danse ou de l’opéra ainsi que les artistes confirmés ayant envie de s’essayer à une autre forme d’expression artistique ou discipline. Les dossiers peuvent être déposés à titre individuel ou par un collectif d’artistes. Les porteurs de projet de formation et d’univers esthétiques variés sont les bienvenus (par exemple en danse: classique, contemporain, hiphop, streetdance, etc.). Concernant le volet opéra, l’appel à projet sera organisé en partenariat avec le Young Opera Makers Programme du réseau européen enoa.

 

1. Critères des projets


Les projets éligibles au TalentLAB sont soumis aux conditions suivantes:

  • Les porteurs de projet et leurs collaborateurs doivent être disponibles tout au long de la période du TalentLAB#18, y inclus la semaine préparatoire.
  • Le projet doit être une création originale ou une adaptation personnelle de matériaux existants (réécriture, collages, réarrangements, réinterprétations…).
  • Le projet doit être en début de son développement : le TalentLAB#18 sera la première étape de travail.
  • Le projet doit être réalisé en luxembourgeois, français, allemand, anglais ou sans paroles.
  • Les porteurs de projet sont encouragés à veiller à la pertinence de leur projet dans le contexte de l’actualité économique, politique et sociale ainsi qu’à la présence d’un élément pluridisciplinaire et de recherche. Ces qualités seront considérées comme un atout par le jury.
     

2. Modalités de l’appel à projets


Les dossiers de candidature doivent être envoyés par voie électronique avant le 10 novembre 2017 à l’adresse suivante: info(at)talentlab.lu en précisant dans l’objet du mail le nom du porteur de projet.
 

3. Dossiers de candidature


Les dossiers de candidature doivent être rédigés en luxembourgeois, français, allemand ou anglais et comprendre :

  • un dossier artistique avec une description du projet, une note d’intention du porteur de projet ainsi qu’une biographie du porteur de projet et des intervenants. Le dossier artistique ne doit pas dépasser les deux feuillets A4;
  • pour les volets «danse» et «opéra»: une captation ou un enregistrement (d’une recherche ou d’un travail réalisé précédemment);
  • un formulaire d’inscription téléchargeable sur les sites: www.lestheatres.lu // www.theatrecentaure.lu // www.danse.lu
     

4. Projets retenus


Un panel composé de professionnels étudiera les différents dossiers. Les candidats seront informés de la sélection le 22 décembre 2017.

Durant le TalentLAB#18, les artistes retenus auront l’occasion de développer une maquette de leur projet d’une durée maximale de 20 minutes. La maquette aura le contenu et prendra la forme tels que jugés appropriés par le porteur de projet, et devra être réalisable avec des moyens techniques limités. Elle constituera une première étape d’un processus de recherche et non un projet aboutit. Le porteur de projet pourra choisir 3 intervenants supplémentaires maximum – à choisir par le porteur de projet en fonction de ses besoins et pouvant être de métiers différents (comédiens, danseurs, compositeurs, librettistes, musiciens, dramaturges, metteurs en scène, auteurs, vidéastes, costumiers, scénographes…).

Pour la réalisation de cette maquette, les artistes seront accompagnés et guidés par des artistes confirmés, qui vont assurer une mission de parrainage.
 

5. Dates importantes


10 novembre 2017
Date limite de remise des dossiers de candidature

22 décembre 2017
Annonce des projets sélectionnés

Semaine du 12 au 17 février 2018
Semaine préparatoire

Mars 2018
Conférence de presse avec présentation du programme complet du TalentLAB#18

TalentLAB#18
Du 24 mai au 3 juin 2018