FR DE EN

TALENT LAB #18

TalentLAB#18

Project-call

 

The 2015-2016 season saw the launch of TalentLAB, an initiative dedicated to theatre creation and dance run by the Théâtres de la Ville in collaboration with the Théâtre du Centaure. The 2017 edition saw the TalentLAB grow in size to include opera as well as theatre and dance. Moreover the TROIS C-L – Centre de Création Chorégraphique Luxembourgeois joined the project as partner for the dance section and the Young Opera Makers Programme run by the European network enoa, became a partner for the opera section.

Initially conceived with the aim of finding a formula to best guide and support emerging talent in Luxembourg, TalentLAB is first and foremost a laboratory: a platform for exchanging ideas, where dialogue, research and development are at the forefront. During the TalentLAB#18, the project leaders will be given the opportunity to exchange during ten days with all participants and to develop a scratch performance of their project under the generous expert guidance of experienced artists, recruited especially for this patronage among long- term international associates. Also, during the 10 days of the TalentLAB, workshops, platform talks and performances will allow participants and audience to discover artists, working methods and innovative productions – all this in a festival spirit of openness and exchange.

The TalentLAB#18 will take place from 24 May to the 3 June 2018 and will once again include the disciplines theatre, dance and opera. Ahead of the TalentLAB#18, a preparation week will take place from the 12 to 17 February 2018, during which a meeting between the organizers, the project leaders and their mentors will take place.

This project-call concerns all three disciplines and is aimed at emerging international artists in the field of live performance who are based in the region. The project leaders can come from different domains (actors, writers, artist collectives, directors, dramaturgs, contemporary choreographers, dancers, composers, musicians etc.). Emerging artists are defined as those artists who are at the start of their career or in the process of turning professional, having had numerous artistic experiences in the fields of theatre, dance or opera as well as established artists who would like to try a new artistic form of expression or discipline. Applications can be made by individual artists as well as artist collectives. Project leaders from a variety of backgrounds, training and aesthetics are welcome (for example in dance: classical, contemporary, hiphop, streetdance, etc.). The opera project call is organized in partnership with the Young Opera Makers programme of the European network enoa.
 

1. Project criteria


Projects eligible for TalentLAB must fulfil the following conditions:

  • Project leaders and their collaborators must be available for the entire period of the TalentLAB#18 as well as the preparation week in February.
  • The project must be an original work or a personal adaptation of existing texts (rewriting, devised piece, etc.).
  • The project must be in the early stages of development, and the 2018 edition of TalentLAB must be its first residency.
  • The project language must be Luxembourgish, French, German or English or without words.
  • Project leaders are encouraged to ensure their project is relevant within the context of current economic, social and political events, and that it has a multidisciplinary and research element to it. These qualities will be considered an advantage by the jury.


2. Terms of the project-call


Applications must be submitted electronically before the 10 November 2017 to the following address: info(at)talentlab.lu, specifying the project leader’s name in the subject line of the e-mail.


3. Applications


Applications must be submitted in Luxembourgish, French, German or English, and must include:

  • an artistic dossier with a description of the project, a motivation letter by the project leader, and a biography of the project leader and his participants. The dossier should not exceed two A4 pages;
  • for the dance and opera sections: a videoclip or a recording (of a research piece or a previous work, etc.):
  • a completed application form, which can be downloaded from the following websites: www.lestheatres.lu // www.theatrecentaure.lu // www.danse.lu
     

4. Selected projects


A panel of professionals will review all applications. Candidates will be informed of the selection outcome by 22 December 2017.

During the TalentLAB#18, the selected artists will have the opportunity to develop a scratch performance of their project with a maximum duration of 20 minutes. This presentation must be achievable with limited technical means and will represent the first stage of a research process rather than a finished product. The project leader may choose 3 additional participants and is free to personally select these participants from various professions and backgrounds (actors, dancers, composers, writers, musicians, dramaturgs, directors, video artists, costume designers, set designers, etc.) according to what he considers most useful to the project development.

To create their scratch performance, the artists will be accompanied and guided by experienced artists who will take on a mentor role.


5. Key dates


10 November 2017
Closing date for applications

22 December 2017
Announcement of selected projects

Week from 12 to 17 February 2018
Preparation week

March 2018
Press conference to present the complete TalentLAB#18 programme

TalentLAB#18
From 24 May to 3 June 2018

FR DE EN

TALENT LAB #18

TalentLAB#18

Projektausschreibung
 


In der Spielzeit 2015/16 initiierten die Théâtres de la Ville de Luxembourg in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Théâtre du Centaure das Projekt TalentLAB, das sich zunächst an Akteure aus dem Theater- und Tanzbereich richtete. Die Ausgabe 2017 wurde um den Bereich „Oper“ erweitert und mit dem TROIS C-L – Centre de Création Chorégraphique Luxembourgeois für den Bereich „Tanz“ und dem Young Opera Makers Programme des europäischen Netzwerks enoa für die Oper kamen zwei weitere Projektpartner hinzu.

TalentLAB wurde in dem Gedanken konzipiert, aufstrebende Talente besser begleiten, unterstützen und fördern zu können. Es ist eine Art Laboratorium, eine Plattform, um sich auszutauschen, weiterzubilden, sich auszuprobieren und neues künstlerisches Terrain zu erforschen. Beim TalentLAB#18 erhalten die ausgewählten Projektleiter und ihre Mitwirkenden zehn Tage lang die Gelegenheit, Teilnehmern aus verschiedenen Disziplinen und Metiers zu begegnen und unter dem wohlwollenden Expertenblick etablierter Künstler, die speziell für diese Aufgabe ausgewählt wurden, eine Kurzpräsentation ihres Projektes zu entwickeln. Workshops, Begegnungen und Vorführungen runden das Programm ab und erlauben es den Teilnehmern und Besuchern, verschiedene Künstler und Arbeitsweisen kennenzulernen. Und das alles in einer offenen und inspirierenden Atmosphäre.

Das TalentLAB#18 findet vom 24. Mai bis zum 3. Juni 2018 statt und umfasst in diesem Jahr erneut die Bereiche Theater, Tanz und Oper. Im Vorfeld dieser 10 Tage wird vom 12. bis 17. Februar 2018 eine Vorbereitungswoche ausgerichtet, während der unter anderem ein Treffen mit den jeweiligen Mentoren stattfinden wird.

Die Projektausschreibung betrifft die Bereiche Theater, Tanz und Oper und richtet sich an internationale, aufstrebende Talente aus dem Bereich darstellende Kunst, die in der Region wohnen und/oder arbeiten. Die Projektinitiatoren können aus verschiedenen Metiers kommen (Schauspieler, Autoren, Regisseure, Dramaturgen, Tänzer, zeitgenössische Choreografen, Komponisten, Librettisten, Musiker…). Als „aufstrebende Talente“ sind zum einen Künstler zu verstehen, die am Beginn ihrer professionellen Karriere stehen und bereits mehrere künstlerische Erfahrungen in den Bereichen Theater, Tanz oder Oper vorweisen können. Die Ausschreibung richtet sich aber auch an etablierte Künstler, die sich in anderen künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen oder Disziplinen ausprobieren wollen. Die Bewerbungen können von Einzelpersonen oder von einem Künstlerkollektiv eingereicht werden. Unterschiedliche Ausbildungen, Stile und ästhetische Richtungen sind willkommen (im Bereich Tanz beispielsweise: klassisch, zeitgenössisch,Hip-Hop, Streetdance, usw.). Im Bereich Oper wird der Projektaufruf in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Young Opera Makers Programme des europäischen Netzwerks enoa veranstaltet.


1. Kriterien für die Projekte


Für die Projekte gelten folgende Kriterien:

  • Die Projektinitiatoren und die Projektbeteiligten müssen während der gesamten Dauer des TalentLAB#18, inklusive Vorbereitungswoche zur Verfügung stehen.
  • Bei dem Projekt muss es sich um eine Kreation eines neuen Werkes oder um eine persönliche Bearbeitung von bereits existierendem Material handeln (Umschreibungen, Collagen, Neuarrangements, Neuinterpretationen …).
  • Das Projekt muss am Beginn seiner Ausarbeitung stehen: Das TalentLAB#18 ist der erste Arbeitsschritt.
  • Das Projekt muss auf Luxemburgisch, Französisch, Deutsch, Englisch oder ohne Worte realisiert werden.
  • Die Projektinitiatoren werden ermutigt, sich um eine wirtschaftliche, politische und gesellschaftliche Relevanz und Aktualität ihrer Projekte zu bemühen und darauf zu achten, eine interdisziplinäre Komponente zu integrieren. Diese Aspekte werden von der Jury als Pluspunkt betrachtet.


2. Bewerbungsmodalitäten
 

Die Bewerbungsunterlagen sollen bis spätestens 10. November 2017 auf elektronischem Weg an folgende Mailadresse gesendet werden: info(at)talentlab.lu. Im Betreff der Mail muss der Name des Projektinitiators stehen.


3. Bewerbungsunterlagen
 

Die Bewerbungen sollen auf Luxemburgisch, Französisch, Deutsch oder Englisch verfasst sein und Folgendes enthalten:

  • Eine Projektbeschreibung und eine Erklärung des Projektinitiators zur Intention des Projekts (zusammen maximal zwei DIN-A-4 Seiten) sowie Biografien des Projektinitiators und der Projektbeteiligten (maximal drei weitere Beteiligte).
  • für die Bereiche Tanz und Oper: Eine Bild- oder Tonaufnahme (sie kann, muss aber nicht aus einer bereits realisierten Arbeit stammen).
  • ein Anmeldeformular, herunterzuladen auf den Seiten: www.lestheatres.lu // www.theatrecentaure.lu // www.danse.lu


4. Ausgewählte Projekte


Ein Expertengremium wird die Bewerbungen auswerten und die Kandidaten werden am 22. Dezember 2017 über die Auswahl informiert.

Während des TalentLAB#18 haben die ausgewählten Künstler Gelegenheit, eine Kurzpräsentation ihres Projekts von maximal 20 Minuten zu entwickeln, die mit geringem technischen Aufwand umsetzbar sein muss. Es handelt sich dabei um die erste Phase des Schaffensprozesses; es geht nicht darum ein fertiges Projekt zu realisieren. Der Projektinitiator kann drei weitere Teilnehmer nach seinen Bedürfnissen aussuchen. Diese können aus unterschiedlichen Metiers kommen (Schauspieler, Tänzer, Komponisten, Librettisten, Musiker, Dramaturgen, Regisseure, Autoren, Videofilmer, Kostümbildner, Bühnenbildner …)

Bei der Realisierung der Kurzpräsentation werden die Projektinitiatoren von etablierten Künstlern im Rahmen einer Patenschaft begleitet und beraten.


5. Wichtige Daten


10. November 2017
Einreichungsfrist für die Bewerbungen

22. Dezember 2017
Bekanntmachung der ausgewählten Projekte

Woche vom 12. bis 17. Februar 2018
Vorbereitungswoche

März 2018
Pressekonferenz zur Vorstellung des Programms vom TalentLAB#18

TalentLAB#18
Vom 24. Mai bis zum 3. Juni 2018