FR DE EN

Théâtre du Centaure

 


The Théâtre du Centaure is a private Theatre founded in 1973 on the initiative of Philippe Noesen after his time at the Comédie Française. Since then it has been active without interruption and has to this day created over 160 pieces of theatre. Since 1985 the theatre consists of 50 seats arranged in a beautiful vaulted cellar in the historic centre of Luxembourg (“Am Dierfgen”, No. 4 Grand-Rue).

The programme favours contemporary theatre but at the same time presents new productions of classic pieces. Every season the theatre produces four to five pieces in the three languages spoken in Luxembourg, French, German and Luxembourgish, and often approaches artistic teams of several nationalities, making it a good representative of theatre life in our small country, where the creative process is very much “European”.

Since its establishment the Théâtre du Centaure has always taken up a privileged position in Luxembourg’s cultural life. It was the origin of art performed on small stages in the country. Creating proximity with the audience, the intimacy of this small theatre improves the relationship between actor and spectator during each performance.

The Théâtre de Centaure regularly works with regional cultural centres (such as the Kulturhaus Niederanven, the cultural centre “Opderschmelz” in Dudelange, the Cube521 in Marnach or the Kulturfabrik in Esch/Alzette), as well as with the country’s public theatres: the municipal theatres of Luxembourg and Esch/Alzette and the Théâtre National de Luxembourg, which allows it to also perform on bigger stages. The productions of the Théâtre du Centaure are often touring through France, Belgium and are performing at the Festival Avignon Off; such as L’Annonce faite à Marie by Paul Claudel, Oleanna by David Mamet, Ménage by Peter Nadas, Trahisons by Harold Pinter, Les Monologues du Vagin by Eve Ensler, La nuit juste avant les forêts by Koltès and Electre by Sophocle among others.

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

Théâtre du Centaure

 


Le Théâtre du Centaure est un théâtre privé, fondé en 1973 à l’initiative de Philippe Noesen après son passage à la Comédie Française. Il fonctionne sans interruption depuis cette date et a créé à ce jour plus de 160 pièces de théâtre. Depuis 1985 il dispose d’une salle de spectacle de 50 fauteuils, aménagée dans une belle cave voûtée au centre historique de Luxembourg ("am Dierfgen ", au no 4 Grand’rue).

La programmation favorise le théâtre contemporain tout en présentant de nouvelles créations des pièces classiques. Bien représentatif de la vie théâtrale de notre petit pays où la création est véritablement « européenne », il produit chaque saison quatre à cinq créations dans les trois langues pratiquées au Luxembourg, le français, l’allemand et le luxembourgeois, et fait souvent appel à des équipes artistiques de plusieurs nationalités.

Depuis sa fondation le Théâtre du Centaure a toujours eu une place privilégiée dans la vie culturelle du Luxembourg. Il a été à l’origine de l’art des petites scènes dans le pays. Créant une proximité avec le spectateur, l’intimité de cette petite salle ajoute à chaque représentation une plus-value relationnelle avec les acteurs.

Le Théâtre du Centaure travaille régulièrement en coproduction avec les centres culturels régionaux (comme p.ex. le Kulturhaus Niederanven, le centre culturel « opderschmelz » à Dudelange, le Cube521 de Marnach ou la Kulturfabrik à Esch-sur-Alzette), ainsi qu’avec les théâtres publics du pays : les Théâtres des Villes de Luxembourg et d’Esch-sur-Alzette et avec le Théâtre National du Luxembourg, ce qui lui permet de jouer sur des scènes plus vastes. Les productions du Théâtre du Centaure sont souvent présentées en tournée en France, en Belgique, au Festival Avignon Off ; comme entre autres L’Annonce faite à Marie de Paul Claudel, Oleanna de David Mamet, Ménage de Peter Nadas, Trahisons de Harold Pinter, Les Monologues du Vagin de Eve Ensler, La nuit juste avant les forêts de Koltès et Electre de Sophocle.

 

Source: plurio.net