FR DE EN

Kasemattentheater

 


On 11 December 1964, the Kasemattentheater was founded under its original name “Centre Grand-Ducal d’Art Dramatique” a.s.b.l.. In Luxembourg of the sixties, where theatre had not spread that far yet, the founder Tun Deutsch had the vision of an avant-garde theatre that would not just attract the intellectual bourgeoisie but also a new kind of audience in a new venue. With the help of this organisation, the actor Tun Deutsch tried to promote acting as a career in Luxembourg to interest the youth of Luxembourg in theatre. In 1965 the idea formed to organise a theatre festival in summer within the fortress walls of the city of Luxembourg, called “Kasematten” or casemates. The first summer festival began in July 1965 in the Bock-casemates with La leçon and La jeune fille à marier. Soon the centre for dramatic arts in the Grand Duchy was named after the unusual site where its productions would take place: Kasemattentheater. In summer in the Bock-casemates, texts by Ionesco, Beckett, Brecht or Mrozek could be heard. Authors such as Sartre, Ionesco, Obaldia, Camus, Saunders, Mrozek, Walser, Kafka, Fo, Schiller, Ibsen, Brecht, Fassbinder, Cechov, Kreisler, Printer – to name a few – were part of the varied programme of the following years. In addition to that its literary cabaret programme also closed a gap in Luxembourg’s cultural life. From the attempt to organise a Tucholsky-evening in 1972 arose an institution that would enthral friends of literature and cabaret for years.

In October 1977, Tun Deutsch succumbed to heart failure at the age of 45. But the Kasemattentheater keeps on going after its founder has left it forever. Many of Luxembourg’s creators of theatre that he has supported on their journey (Frank Hoffmann, André Jung, Germain Wagner, Josiane Pfeiffer and more) now have substantial national and international careers and his creative spirit continues to live in the Luxembourgish theatre productions that saw the beginning of a new era thanks to Tun Deutsch. The early success of the Kasemattentheater set the theatre scene in motion, so that the people responsible for the ensemble continued Tun’s legacy without hesitation. After having played on different provisional stages for years, the Kasemattentheater could move into a permanent location in Luxembourg-Bonnevoie thanks to the support of the municipal authorities of the city of Luxembourg.

Since the season of 2007/2008 the Kasemattentheater has developed new dynamic structures under the artistic direction of Germain Wagner. The Kasemattentheater now focuses on modern productions and readings of literary texts more than ever, as well as national and international coproductions, exactly in the spirit of Tun Deutsch. For example, the season of 2009/2010 was in the theme of “Revolutions, Upheavals and Changes” – political and societal but also personal and private ones. The Kasemattentheater consciously tries to give young artists a creative free space. The season 2010/2011 was in the theme of “Identities” with productions by young directors such as Carole Lorang from Luxembourg or the young talent Moritz Schönecker from Germany.

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

Kasemattentheater

 


Am 11. Dezember 1964 wurde das Kasemattentheater unter seinem offiziellen Namen "Centre Grand-Ducal d'Art Dramatique" a.s.b.l gegründet. In dem bis dahin theaterverschlafenen Luxemburg der sechziger Jahre schwebte dem Gründer Tun Deutsch ein avantgardistisches Theaterschaffen vor, das nicht nur die intellektuelle Bourgeoisie, sondern ein neues Publikum in einer neuen Spielstätte anziehen sollte. Über diese Truppe versuchte der Schauspieler Tun Deutsch das Berufsbild des Schauspielers in Luxemburg bekannt zu machen, um die luxemburgische Jugend zum Theater zu bringen. Im Jahre 1965 entstand dann die Idee, im Sommer ein Theaterfestival in den Festungsmauern der Stadt Luxemburg, Kasematten genannt, zu organisieren. Mit La leçon und La jeune fille à marier von Ionesco begann im Juli 1965 das erste Sommerfestival in den Bock-Kasematten. Bald schon wurde das Großherzogliche Zentrum für Schauspielkunst nach dem ungewöhnlichen Ort benannt, an dem seine Produktionen stattfanden: Kasemattentheater. Im Sommer in den Bock- Kasematten waren Texte Ionescos, Becketts, Brechts oder Mrozeks zu hören. Aus dem reichhaltigen Spielprogramm der folgenden Jahre seien nur einige Autoren hervorgehoben, wie Sartre, Ionesco, Obaldia, Camus, Saunders, Mrozek, Walser, Kafka, Fo, Schiller, Ibsen, Brecht, Fassbinder, Cechov, Kreisler, Pinter u.v.a. Auch mit seinen literarischen Kabarettprogrammen füllte das Kasemattentheater eine Lücke im kulturellen Leben Luxemburgs aus. Aus dem Versuch, im Jahre 1972 einen Tucholsky-Abend zu veranstalten, wurde eine Institution, die über Jahre hinaus die Literatur-und Kabarett-Freunde begeisterte.

Tun Deutsch erlag im Oktober 1977 im Alter von 45 Jahren einem Herzversagen. Doch besteht das Kasemattentheater, auch nachdem es von seinem Gründer für immer verlassen wurde, weiter. Viele der Luxemburger Theaterschaffenden, die er auf ihrem Weg geleitet hatte (Frank Hoffmann, André Jung, Germain Wagner, Josiane Peiffer u.a.), haben mittlerweile im In-und Ausland eine beachtliche Karriere gemacht und immer noch lebt sein schöpferischer Geist in den luxemburgischen Theaterproduktionen, für die mit Tun Deutsch eine neue Ära begann. Die frühen Erfolge des Kasemattentheaters hatten Bewegung in die Theaterszene gebracht, sodass es für die Verantwortlichen des Ensembles kein Bedenken gab, Tun’s Werk weiter zu führen. Nachdem das Theater jahrelang verschiedene Provisorien bespielt hatte, konnte das Kasemattentheater im März 1998 dank der Unterstützung der Gemeindeverwaltung der Stadt Luxemburg eine feste Spielstätte in Luxemburg-Bonneweg beziehen.

Seit der Spielzeit 2007/2008 hat das Kasemattentheater unter der künstlerischen Leitung von Germain Wagner eine neue Dynamik entwickelt. Das Kasemattentheater setzt nun wieder mehr denn je auf literarische Texte in Form von modernen Inszenierungen und Lesungen in Eigenproduktionen, sowie auch auf nationale und internationale Koproduktionen, ganz im Sinne von Tun Deutsch. Die Spielzeit 2009/2010 stand beispielsweise unter dem Motto der "Revolutionen, Umwälzungen und Umbrüche" – politische und gesellschaftliche, aber auch persönliche und private. Das Kasemattentheater versucht dabei ganz bewusst, jungen Künstlern einen kreativen Freiraum zu bieten. Die Spielzeit 2010/2011 stand unter dem Motto der "Identität(en)" mit Inszenierungen beispielsweise von jungen Regisseuren wie der Luxemburgerin Carole Lorang oder dem deutschen Nachwuchstalent Moritz Schönecker.

 

Quelle: plurio.net