FR DE EN

Théâtre National du Luxembourg

© Bohumil Kostohryz
© Bohumil Kostohryz

 


The Théâtre National du Luxembourg was founded in 1996 as a result of the great enthusiasm generated by “Luxembourg – European Capital of Culture 1995”. The TNL wants to act as an intermediary for the internationalisation of theatre in Luxembourg, that is indirectly finding its true national identity in a European environment. As a real hub for Romanic and Germanic cultures, Luxembourg can become an important centre of European theatre. To once again paraphrase the famous quote by Malraux, you might say that Luxembourgish theatre of the 21st century will either be European or it will not be anything!

Since its establishment the TNL has been going after this ideal with an undeniable success that has been recognised by the national and international press, by audiences coming in thousands to attend the often very ambitious performances and the hundreds of artists and technicians that have worked for the theatre.

By, on the one hand opening up opportunities abroad for Luxembourgish artists working in theatre professions and by inviting renowned international artists to Luxembourg to take part in coproductions on the other, the TNL serves as a scene for all the national theatrical arts.

The systematic export of Luxembourgish quality productions in the domain of theatre and opera and the constant anxiety to see Luxemburgish culture being passed on across the borders, has ensured the survival of Luxemburgish theatre, if not necessarily its prominence. The TNL stays true to its principles developed since its foundation and additionally has two main goals: to be a theatre of language and literature – all in the three languages used in Luxembourg, Luxembourgish, French and German – as well as a theatre of opera and of contemporary music, whilst maintaining close relationships with the different orchestras in Luxembourg. In addition to that, the TNL sees itself as a theatre of creative production in general, in which authors and composers from Luxembourg can find a reference point. Since the season of 2005/2006 the Théâtre National has also been involved in dance productions for the first time.

 

Seats: Theatre (140), Studio (70), Ateliers du TNL (100)

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

Théâtre National du Luxembourg

© Bohumil Kostohryz
© Bohumil Kostohryz

 


Das Théâtre National du Luxembourg wurde 1996 aus der mitreißenden Begeisterung heraus gegründet, die durch die Initiative „Luxemburg – Kulturhauptstadt Europas 1995“ entstanden war. Das TNL will als Vermittler bei der Internationalisierung des Luxemburger Theaters, das auf Umwegen seine wahre Nationalidentität innerhalb der europäischen Landschaft für sich entdeckt, fungieren. Als wahre Drehscheibe der romanischen und germanischen Kulturen kann Luxemburg auf diese Weise ein wichtiges Zentrum des europäischen Theaters werden. Oder, um ein berühmtes Zitat von Malraux zu paraphrasieren, entweder wird das Luxemburger Theater des 21. Jahrhunderts europäisch oder es wird überhaupt nichts!

Seit seiner Gründung hat das TNL nie aufgehört sich in dieser Hinsicht zu bemühen, und das mit mit einem unbestreitbaren Erfolg, der von der nationalen und internationalen Presse, den Zuschauern, die zu tausenden den ehrgeizigen Vorstellungen beigewohnt haben, sowie den hunderten von Künstlern und Technikern, die für das Theater gearbeitet haben, anerkannt wurde.

Das TNL dient als Schauplatz der gesamten nationalen Theaterkunst, indem es zum einen Wege ins Ausland für alle in Theaterberufen arbeitenden luxemburgischen Künstler erschließt und zum anderen renommierte internationale Künstler nach Luxemburg einlädt, damit diese an Koproduktionen und Bühneninszenierungen teilnehmen können.

Der systematische Export luxemburgischer Qualitätsproduktionen aus den Bereichen Theater und Oper und die ständigen Bemühungen, die Luxemburger Kultur nach außen zu tragen, sichern dem Luxemburger Theater sein Überleben, wenn nicht sogar seinen Bekanntheitsgrad. Das TNL bleibt den seit seiner Gründung entwickelten Prinzipien treu und hat zwei Berufungen: ein Theater der Sprache und der Literatur zu sein – und das in den drei in Luxemburg gebräuchlichen Sprachen, Luxemburgisch, Französisch und Deutsch – und ein Theater der Oper und der gegenwärtigen Musik, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den verschiedenen Orchestern Luxemburgs. Des Weiteren versteht sich das TNL generell als Theater des kreativen Schaffens, in dem luxemburgische Autoren und Komponisten eine Anlaufstelle vorfinden sollen. Erstmals seit der Saison 2005/2006 wirkt das Théâtre National zusätzlich im Bereich des Tanzes mit.

 

Plätze: Theater (140), Studio (70), Ateliers du TNL (100)

 

Quelle: plurio.net