FR DE EN

La Compagnie du Grand Boube

 


Having finished their studies in Brussels in the early 2000s, Carole Lang & Mani Muller already formed an experimental creative couple, his expertise being in the field of writing, poetry and video, hers in the field of theatrical performance and directing. From their collaboration with the actress Bach-Lan Lê-Bà Thi a series of theatrical projects exploring the notion of the interior universe in a given space was born. Peggy Wurth (costume designer) and Jérôme Varanfrain (actor) joined the trio in 2004-2005.

Being strong in their training, experiences and affinities, they founded the Compagnie du Grand Boube, which above all considers itself to be a European association and focuses on working with artists of diverse origins and cultures. Furthermore, the phrase that juxtaposes the French word “compagnie” and the made-up proper noun “Boube” whose sound refers to the German word “Bube” (common noun meaning boy, naughty kid, young man) leads back to relationships with Luxembourg, country of origin (or choice) of the members of the company and an ambiguous and provisional cultural entity, inserted between two large, well-defined, durable and influential neighbours.

No art pairs up better with Luxembourg than theatre, which, as we know, is the place par excellence when it comes to the ambiguous and provisional: the stage generates and abolishes identity, the effect of reality deceives and disappoints, opening up the opportunity to explore our dark side.

Since 2007 the company is based in Luxembourg, where they collaborate with the Grand Théâtre and the CarréRotondes whilst continuing to work on projects with its partners in France and Belgium.

The name of the company is an allusion to childhood, on the one hand the origin of creation, on the other that of the personal and collective subconsciousness; the name also points towards the mischievous humour associated with “immaturity”, a term coined by Witold Gombrowicz, a reference author.

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

La Compagnie du Grand Boube

 


Lorsqu’ils terminent leurs études à Bruxelles, au début des années 2000, Carole Lorang & Mani Muller forment déjà un couple de créateurs expérimentés, celui-ci dans l’écriture, la poésie et la vidéo, celle-là en jeu dramatique et mise en scène. De leur complicité avec la comédienne Bach-Lan Lê-Bà Thi naît alors une série de projets de théâtre explorant la notion d'univers intérieur dans un espace donné. En 2004-2005 le trio est rejoint par Peggy Wurth (créatrice costumes) et Jérôme Varanfrain (comédien).

Forts de leurs formations, expériences et affinités, ils fondent la Compagnie du Grand Boube, qui, se considérant avant tout comme une association européenne, met résolument en avant sa volonté de travailler avec des artistes de diverses origines et cultures. Par ailleurs, le syntagme, qui juxtapose le français "compagnie" et "Boube", nom propre inventé, à la sonorité plutôt allemande*, renvoie aux rapports avec le Luxembourg, à la fois pays d’origine (ou d’adoption) des membres de la compagnie et entité culturelle ambiguë et provisoire, insérée entre deux grands voisins bien définis, durables et influents.

Aucun art ne s'apparie mieux au Luxembourg que le théâtre qui, comme on le sait, est le lieu par excellence de l’ambiguïté et du provisoire: la scène génère et abolit des identités, l’effet de réel illusionne et désillusionne, ouvrant grand la porte à l’exploration de notre part d’ombre.

Depuis 2007, la compagnie est basée à Luxembourg, où elle travaille notamment avec le Grand Théâtre et le CarréRotondes, tout en continuant à élaborer des projets avec ses partenaires de France et de Belgique.

Le nom de la compagnie est une allusion à l'enfance, où plongent, d’une part, les racines de la création, d’autre part, celles des inconscients personnel et collectif; le nom est aussi un clin d’œil à cette humeur espiègle associée à "l’immaturité", thème clé hérité de Witold Gombrowicz, un auteur de référence.

 

{* Il existe en allemand un nom commun « Bub(e) », qui signifie « gamin, fripon, jeune homme »}

 

Source: plurio.net