FR DE EN

La Compagnie du Grand Boube

 


Having finished their studies in Brussels in the early 2000s, Carole Lang & Mani Muller already formed an experimental creative couple, his expertise being in the field of writing, poetry and video, hers in the field of theatrical performance and directing. From their collaboration with the actress Bach-Lan Lê-Bà Thi a series of theatrical projects exploring the notion of the interior universe in a given space was born. Peggy Wurth (costume designer) and Jérôme Varanfrain (actor) joined the trio in 2004-2005.

Being strong in their training, experiences and affinities, they founded the Compagnie du Grand Boube, which above all considers itself to be a European association and focuses on working with artists of diverse origins and cultures. Furthermore, the phrase that juxtaposes the French word “compagnie” and the made-up proper noun “Boube” whose sound refers to the German word “Bube” (common noun meaning boy, naughty kid, young man) leads back to relationships with Luxembourg, country of origin (or choice) of the members of the company and an ambiguous and provisional cultural entity, inserted between two large, well-defined, durable and influential neighbours.

No art pairs up better with Luxembourg than theatre, which, as we know, is the place par excellence when it comes to the ambiguous and provisional: the stage generates and abolishes identity, the effect of reality deceives and disappoints, opening up the opportunity to explore our dark side.

Since 2007 the company is based in Luxembourg, where they collaborate with the Grand Théâtre and the CarréRotondes whilst continuing to work on projects with its partners in France and Belgium.

The name of the company is an allusion to childhood, on the one hand the origin of creation, on the other that of the personal and collective subconsciousness; the name also points towards the mischievous humour associated with “immaturity”, a term coined by Witold Gombrowicz, a reference author.

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

La Compagnie du Grand Boube

 

 

Nach Beendigung ihres Studiums in Brüssel Anfang der 2000er, bildeten Carole Lorang & Mani Muller bereits ein experimentierfreudiges Künstlerpaar: er im Bereich des Schreibens, der Poesie und der Videokunst, sie im Theaterspiel und der Regie. Aus ihrer Zusammenarbeit mit der Schauspielerin Bach-Lan Lê-Bà Thi entstand so eine Serie aus Theaterprojekten, die sich mit dem Bewusstsein der inneren Welt in einem vorgegebenen Raum beschäftigen. 2004-2005 wurde das Trio durch Peggy Wurth (Kostümbildnerin) und Jérôme Varanfrain (Schauspieler) ergänzt.

Zusammen stark durch ihre Ausbildungen, Erfahrungen und Gemeinsamkeiten, gründeten sie die Compagnie du Grand Boube, die sich vor allem als ein Europäische "Verein" versteht und ihren Wunsch, mit Künstlern verschiedenster Herkünfte und Kulturen zusammen zu arbeiten, in den Vordergrund stellt. Außerdem stellt der Name, der das französische „compagnie“ und das erfundene, an das deutsche Wort „Bube“ angelehnte „Boube“ gegenüberstellt, eine Beziehung zu Luxemburg her: die (Wahl-) Heimat der Compagnie-Mitglieder und Land der undefinierten und provisorischen Kulturen, das zwischen zwei großen, standhaften und einflussreichen Nachbarn liegt.

Keine Kunst paart sich besser mit Luxemburg als das Theater, das, wie man weiß, der Ort der Mehrdeutigkeit und des Provisorischen schlechthin ist: die Bühne schafft und hebt Identitäten auf, der Anschein der Wirklichkeit täuscht und enttäuscht und öffnet damit die Türen zur Erkundung unserer Schattenseiten.

Seit 2007 hat die Compagnie ihren Sitz in Luxemburg, wo sie vor allem mit dem Grand Théâtre und den CarréRotondes zusammenarbeitet und dabei weiterhin Projekte mit ihren Partnern in Frankreich und Belgien gestaltet.

Der Name der Compagnie ist eine Anspielung zum Einen auf die Kindheit, von der einerseits die Wurzeln des Schaffens, andererseits die des persönlichen und kollektiven Unterbewusstseins herführen; zum Anderen auf den schelmischen Humor in Verbindung mit der „Unreife“, ein von dem Autor Witold Gombrowicz geprägter Begriff.

 

Quelle: plurio.net