FR DE EN

Compagnie Ghislain Roussel

© Compagnie Ghislain Roussel
© Compagnie Ghislain Roussel

 

In May 2012 Ghislain Roussel founded the Compagnie Ghislain Roussel. Its declared artistic aim is to develop theatrical means of expression that innovatively and radically combine the different artistic disciplines. A main focus lies on the relationship between music, image and text and the interaction with the body. Since its establishment, the company has created the following productions:

  • Monocle, portrait de S. von Harden, Monologue inspired by a famous painting by Otto Dix (Opening at the Théâtre National du Luxembourg, 2010).
  • AVc, le petit théâtre sonore et privé de Rebecca Stahl, performance for one cellist and one speaker, inspired by Fluxus and the experimental interdisciplinary scene of the 1970s (Opening at the MUDAM – Musée d’Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Luxembourg, 2012).
  • Golden Shower, theatre play combining text, video and opera, that critically looks at the history of television (Opening at the Théâtre National du Luxembourg, 2013).
  • La Parure, Monologue based on the novel by Guy de Maupassant (Opening at the Théâtre du Centaure, Luxembourg, 2013).

In the context of Stéphane Ghislain Roussel’s artistic career (as a musician, musicologist, curator and dramaturge) his works - that are beyond the conventions of classical theatre - ask the question concerning the power of depiction and its relationship to the entire work of art, opera being a central field for his experiments.

In addition to its artistic work, the company especially focuses on the international distribution and repetition of its productions to further develop them and to broadcast Luxembourgish culture on the international stage. The encounter with other people and cultures is stimulating and beneficial for both sides.

Source: Compagnie Ghislain Roussel

FR DE EN

Compagnie Ghislain Roussel

© Compagnie Ghislain Roussel
© Compagnie Ghislain Roussel

 

Stéphane Ghislain Roussel gründete im Mai 2012 die Compagnie Ghislain Roussel. Ihr erklärter künstlerischer Anspruch ist es, theatralische Ausdrucksformen zu entwickeln, die die unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Disziplinen innovativ und radikal miteinander verbinden. Einen besonderen Schwerpunkt liegt dabei auf der Beziehung von Musik, Bild und Text und der Interaktion mit dem Körper.

Seit ihrer Gründung brachte die Compagnie folgende Produktionen heraus:

  • Monocle, portrait de S. von Harden  [Monocle, Porträt der S. von Harden], Monolog, inspiriert von einem berühmten Gemälde von Otto Dix (Premiere im TNL-Théâtre National du Luxembourg, 2010).
  • AVc, le petit théâtre sonore et privé de Rebecca von Stahl, Performance für eine Cellistin und einen Vortragenden, inspiriert von Fluxus und von der experimentellen und interdisziplinären Szene der 1970er (Uraufführung im MUDAM-Musée d´Art Moderne Grand-Duc Jean, Luxemburg, 2012).
  • Golden Shower, Bühnenstück aus Text, Video und Oper, das einen kritischen Blick auf die Geschichte des Fernsehens wirft (Premiere im TNL-Théâtre National du Luxembourg, 2013).
  • La parure [Der Schmuck], Monolog nach der Erzählung von Guy de Maupassant (Premiere im Théâtre du Centaure, Luxemburg, 2013).

Vor dem Hintergrund von Séphane Ghislain Roussels künstlerischem Werdegang als Musiker, Musikwissenschaftler, Kurator und Dramaturg stellen seine Werke – jenseits der Konventionen des klassischen Theaters – die Frage nach der Kraft der Darstellung und ihrem Verhältnis zum Gesamtkunstwerk. Die Oper ist für ihn dabei ein zentrales Experimentierfeld.

Zusätzlich zu  ihrer künstlerischen Arbeit legt die Compagnie ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die internationale Verbreitung und Wiederholung ihrer Produktionen, um sie so weiterzuentwickeln und die Ausstrahlung des Luxemburger Kulturschaffens auf der internationalen Bühne zu erhöhen. Die Begegnung mit anderen Menschen und Kulturen wirkt befruchtend und bereichert beide Seiten.$

Quelle: Compagnie Ghislain Roussel