FR DE EN

Neimënster – Centre Culturel de Rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster

© CCRN
© CCRN

 


The CCRN Abbey of Neumünster, a major historical site of Luxembourg City, is an impressive architectural achievement that has witnessed four centuries of historical upheaval. Former Benedictine abbey, former military bastion, former prison (namely during occupation by the Nazis), it is located in the old quarters on an itinerary classified as World Heritage by the UNESCO.

It is composed of a Benedictine abbey, founded in 1606, which is flanked by a building from the period of the Prussian garrison’s presence and a construction from the early 20th century. The centre thus benefits from a scenography worthy of the most extraordinary productions. In the summer, this spectacular location with the rock face, the casemates and the rivulet Alzette making its way through the valley (according to popular myth the beautiful Melusina surfaced from its depths), serves as background to the international music festival OMNI and occasionally to big stage productions.

Robert Krieps, the former Minister of Justice and Culture, was in the custody of the Nazis at the age of 17 on these premises due to his resistance to the Nazi regime. It was his idea to transform the prison into a cultural centre; the auditorium with seating for 300 people thus was named after him. This room is equipped for concerts, dance productions, film screenings, conferences and plays. The international humor festival "Humour pour la Paix" annually takes up residence in this hall during the second half of March. The two Jazz festivals "Piano Plus" and "Autumn Leaves" have forged the abbey’s reputation of being a Mecca for Jazz music aficionados.

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

Neimënster – Centre Culturel de Rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster

© CCRN
© CCRN

 


Einer der historischsten Plätze der Stadt Luxemburg, das Kulturzentrum Abtei Neumünster – Centre Culturel de Rencontre Abbaye de Neumünster (CCRN) – ist ein beeindruckendes architektonisches Werk, das auf vier historisch bewegende Jahrhunderte zurückblicken lässt. Ehemalige Benediktinerabtei, Militärbastion und früheres Gefängnis (vor allem während der Nazibesatzung), befindet es sich im Herzen der alten Stadtviertel und ist Teil des UNESCO Weltkulturerbes.

Das Kulturzentrum hat die Struktur einer Benediktinerabtei deren Grundstein 1606 gelegt wurde, angrenzend ein Gebäude aus der Zeit der Besatzung der Preußischen Garnison und eine Konstruktion aus dem frühen 20. Jahrhundert. Die Abtei Neumünster ist in eine einzigartige Umgebung eingebettet und dient mit ihrem speziellen Flair, der Festungsmauer, den Kasematten und der sich durch das Tal schlängelnden Alzette als Kulisse für das Internationale Musikfestival OMNI sowie für regelmäßig stattfindende grenzüberschreitende Theaterproduktionen.

Der integrierte Theatersaal Robert Krieps ist benannt nach dem früheren Justiz- und Kulturminister, dessen Idee es war, diesen Ort, an dem er selbst im Alter von 17 Jahren während der Nazibesetzung inhaftiert war, in eine Begegnungsstätte umzuwandeln. Er umfasst 300 Sitzplätze und ist ausgestattet mit der modernsten Technik für Musik, Tanz, Film, Konferenzen und Theater. Hier finden jährlich u.a. das Internationale Humorfestival "Humour pour la Paix" statt, sowie die beiden Jazzfestivals "Piano Plus" und "Autumn Leaves", die im Wesentlichen den Ruf der Abtei als Jazztempel geprägt haben.

 

Quelle: plurio.net