FR DE EN

Théâtre municipal d'Esch/Alzette

 


On 26 May 1962, the communal officials and Joseph Wampach, the first managing director of Esch Theatre, had the pleasure of officially welcoming Her Royal Highness Grand Duchess Charlotte and the Prince of Luxembourg, Prime Minister Pierre Werner and a number of distinguished guests for the opening of the newly built theatre. Over the years this new cultural centre in Europe’s iron mining capital, would receive thousands and thousands of spectators from Luxembourg, but also France, Belgium and Germany … The town being situated in between three borders, Esch-sur-Alzette could prove its transnational and multicultural orientation and the quality program of its house of culture never seized growing, especially under the dynamic influence of its second managing director, Guy Wagner, who presented strong musical seasons and excellent exhibitions, as well as a certain number of theatre productions.

Having taken up the torch in 1992, Philippe Noesen, the third director, who focused on theatrical production, multiplying the productions and coproductions. From March 1996 to February 1997, the theatre closed its doors for important renovation work of its auditorium and foyers. The ground floor now included a reception and seating area and was transformed according to criteria of transparency: open towards the outside due to numerous doors and large windows and open vertically to allow interaction between visitors of other floors. Under the management of its fourth director Charles Muller another renovation was completed at Théâtre d'Esch: the stage, the artist lodges and the administration of the theatre were now conforming to international norms. After two seasons of performing in a tent instead of the actual venue in Esch/Lallange, the theatre re-opened its doors on 8 January 2011. The theatre continued its transnational and soon academic orientation, always striving for a more and more professional level, whilst maintaining excellent relationships with foreign theatres of high standards.

Concerning the big stage, the theatre has 517 numbered seats and thanks to the personalised subscription system, the audience can choose their tickets from the entire program: theatre performances in multiple languages, dance performances, operas, operettas, concerts, variety performances, etc.

The small theatre, that can accommodate up to 100 people, is now better adapted for intimate performances, literary and poetic evenings, café-théâtre, jazz concerts, etc. There is also the restaurant Allegro by favaro that offers food and drink to audiences. The second floor also used to present art or themed exhibitions, particularly in the “Galerie d’Art”. This gallery considers itself a place of encounter, confrontation and activity in the domain of statuary, not just in the Grand Duchy, but also in the Greater Region.

The season for the theatre and the art gallery starts at the end of September to then finish by the end of June of the following year.

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

Théâtre municipal d'Esch/Alzette

 


Le 26 mai 1962, les édiles communaux et Joseph Wampach, premier directeur du Théâtre d’Esch, ont le plaisir d’accueillir officiellement leurs altesses royales la Grande-Duchesse Charlotte et le Prince de Luxembourg, le premier ministre Pierre Werner, et de nombreux invités de marque, pour l’inauguration du théâtre nouvellement construit. Au fil des années, ce nouveau haut lieu de la culture dans la capitale du bassin minier va accueillir des milliers et des milliers de spectateurs luxembourgeois mais aussi français, belges, allemands ... Ville aux trois frontières, Esch-sur-Alzette affirme ainsi sa vocation transfrontalière et multiculturelle, et le programme de qualité de sa Maison de la Culture ne cesse de s’élargir, notamment sous l’impulsion dynamique de son 2ième directeur, Guy Wagner qui présente de fortes saisons musicales et d’excellentes expositions, ainsi qu’un certain nombre de créations théâtrales.

Ayant repris le flambeau en 1992, Philippe Noesen, le 3ième directeur, met l’accent sur la création dramatique, multipliant les productions et coproductions. De mars 1996 à février 1997, le théâtre ferme ses portes pour une importante rénovation de sa salle et de ses foyers. Le rez-de-chaussée abrite désormais les structures d’accueil du public et est transformé selon des critères de transparences: ouverture vers l’extérieur grâce à de nombreuses portes et baies vitrées, et ouverture verticale pour permettre l’interaction avec les visiteurs des autres étages. Sous la direction de son 4ième directeur, Charles Muller, une autre rénovation s’est achevée au Théâtre d’Esch: La scène, les loges et l’administration du théâtre sont désormais conformes aux normes internationales. Après deux saisons sous chapiteau à la place de l’Exposition à Esch/Lallange, le théâtre a rouvert ses portes le 8 janvier 2011. Le théâtre continue sa vocation transfrontalière et, bientôt aussi, universitaire, toujours à la recherche d’une qualité de plus en plus professionnelle, tout en entretenant d’excellentes relations avec des théâtres étrangers de haut niveau.

Du côté de la grande scène, la salle compte 517 places numérotées, et grâce à l’abonnement à la carte, le public peut choisir ses tickets dans tout le programme: représentations de théâtre dans plusieurs langues, spectacles de danse, d'opéras, d’opérettes, concerts, variétés, etc.

La petite salle du théâtre, qui accueille jusqu’à 100 personnes, est maintenant mieux adaptée aux spectacles intimistes, aux soirées littéraires et poétiques, au café-théâtre, aux concerts de jazz, etc.). En outre elle dispose d’une structure d’accueil, le restaurant Allegro by favaro, qui offre boissons et restauration au public. Le 2ième étage du théâtre sert également à la présentation d'expositions artistiques ou thématiques, en particulier dans la «Galerie d'Art». Cette galerie se veut lieu de rencontre, de confrontation et d’animation dans le domaine des arts plastiques, ceci non seulement pour le Grand-Duché, mais aussi pour la Grande Région.

La saison du théâtre et de la galerie d’art commence fin septembre pour se terminer fin juin de l’année suivante.

 

Source: plurio.net