FR DE EN

Théâtre municipal d'Esch/Alzette

 


On 26 May 1962, the communal officials and Joseph Wampach, the first managing director of Esch Theatre, had the pleasure of officially welcoming Her Royal Highness Grand Duchess Charlotte and the Prince of Luxembourg, Prime Minister Pierre Werner and a number of distinguished guests for the opening of the newly built theatre. Over the years this new cultural centre in Europe’s iron mining capital, would receive thousands and thousands of spectators from Luxembourg, but also France, Belgium and Germany … The town being situated in between three borders, Esch-sur-Alzette could prove its transnational and multicultural orientation and the quality program of its house of culture never seized growing, especially under the dynamic influence of its second managing director, Guy Wagner, who presented strong musical seasons and excellent exhibitions, as well as a certain number of theatre productions.

Having taken up the torch in 1992, Philippe Noesen, the third director, who focused on theatrical production, multiplying the productions and coproductions. From March 1996 to February 1997, the theatre closed its doors for important renovation work of its auditorium and foyers. The ground floor now included a reception and seating area and was transformed according to criteria of transparency: open towards the outside due to numerous doors and large windows and open vertically to allow interaction between visitors of other floors. Under the management of its fourth director Charles Muller another renovation was completed at Théâtre d'Esch: the stage, the artist lodges and the administration of the theatre were now conforming to international norms. After two seasons of performing in a tent instead of the actual venue in Esch/Lallange, the theatre re-opened its doors on 8 January 2011. The theatre continued its transnational and soon academic orientation, always striving for a more and more professional level, whilst maintaining excellent relationships with foreign theatres of high standards.

Concerning the big stage, the theatre has 517 numbered seats and thanks to the personalised subscription system, the audience can choose their tickets from the entire program: theatre performances in multiple languages, dance performances, operas, operettas, concerts, variety performances, etc.

The small theatre, that can accommodate up to 100 people, is now better adapted for intimate performances, literary and poetic evenings, café-théâtre, jazz concerts, etc. There is also the restaurant Allegro by favaro that offers food and drink to audiences. The second floor also used to present art or themed exhibitions, particularly in the “Galerie d’Art”. This gallery considers itself a place of encounter, confrontation and activity in the domain of statuary, not just in the Grand Duchy, but also in the Greater Region.

The season for the theatre and the art gallery starts at the end of September to then finish by the end of June of the following year.

 

Source: plurio.net

FR DE EN

Théâtre municipal d'Esch/Alzette

 


Am 26. Mai 1962 hatten die Stadtbezirksverwalter und Joseph Wampach, Intendant des Theaters Esch, das Vergnügen, ihre königliche Hoheit die Großherzogin Charlotte und den Prinzen von Luxemburg, den Premierminister Pierre Werner und zahlreiche Gäste von Rang zur Einweihung des neu erbauten Theaters zu empfangen. Im Laufe der Jahre sollte diese neue kulturelle Hochburg im Zentrum des Eisenerzabbaus tausende und abertausende Zuschauer aus Luxemburg, aber auch aus Frankreich, Belgien und Deutschland aufnehmen ... Als Stadt am Dreiländereck stellte Esch-sur-Alzette so seine grenzüberschreitende und multikulturelle Ausrichtung unter Beweis, während das Qualitätsprogramm seines Kulturhauses nicht aufhörte sich zu erweitern, besonders unter dem dynamischen Antrieb seines zweiten Intendanten, Guy Wagner, der starke Musikspielzeiten und hervorragende Ausstellungen, sowie eine gewisse Anzahl an Theaterinszenierungen präsentierte.

Nachdem er das Erbe im Jahre 1992 angetreten hatte, legte Philippe Noesen, der dritte Intendant, besonderen Wert auf Theaterinszenierungen und vervielfachte somit die Produktionen und Koproduktionen. Von März 1996 bis Februar 1997 schloss das Theater seine Türen aufgrund von wichtigen Renovierungsarbeiten an seinem Theatersaal und seinen Foyers. Das Erdgeschoss war von nun an mit Sitzgelegenheiten ausgestattet und nach transparenten Kriterien umgestaltet worden: Öffnung nach Außen dank zahlreicher Türen und großer Glasfenster, und eine vertikal ausgerichtete Öffnung, um den Austausch zwischen den Besuchern anderer Etagen zu ermöglichen. Unter der Leitung seines vierten Intendanten, Charles Muller, wurde eine weitere Renovierung im Theater Esch abgeschlossen: die Bühne, die Logen und die Verwaltung entsprachen von nun an den internationalen Normen. Nach zwei Saisons im Zelt anstelle der Vorführungen in Esch/Lallange öffnete das Theater am 8. Januar 2011 wieder seine Türen. Das Theater führte seine grenzübergreifende und bald auch universitäre Ausrichtung weiter, ständig in dem Streben nach einem immer professionelleren Niveau, wobei es außerdem sehr gute Beziehungen mit hochqualifizierten ausländischen Theatern unterhielt.

Aufseiten der großen Bühne zählt der Saal 517 nummerierte Sitzplätze und dank des Kartenabonnements kann das Publikum seine Tickets aus dem kompletten Programm auswählen: Theatervorstellungen in mehreren Sprachen, Tanzvorführungen, Opern, Operetten, Konzerte, Variétévorstellungen, etc.

Der kleine Theatersaal, der bis zu 100 Personen unterbringen kann, ist jetzt besser auf Vorstellungen im persönlichen Rahmen, literarische und poetische Abende, Cafétheater und Jazzkonzerte zugeschnitten. Des weiteren gibt es dort das Restaurant Allegro by favaro, das dem Publikum Essen und Getränke anbietet. Die zweite Etage des Theaters wird ebenfalls zu Vorführungszwecken, von Kunst- und thematischen Ausstellungen, verwendet, besonders in der „Galerie d’Art“. Diese Galerie versteht sich als Ort der Begegnung, der Konfrontation und des regen Austausches innerhalb der Bildhauerkunst, und das nicht nur für das Großherzogtum, sondern auch für die Großregion.

Die Theatersaison (einschließlich der Saison der Galerie d’Art) beginnt Ende September und endet Ende Juni des darauffolgenden Jahres.

 

Quelle: plurio.net